In Which Stanley Delgado Realizes That This Project Probably Maybe Made Him A Better Person

by Stanley Delgado

I learned that my greatest obstacle, currently, is myself. There is no absence of stories out there but it was hard sometimes just getting myself out there because the strength of the stories was left up to me whether a story lived or died.

Basically, if a story wasn’t good – it was because of me and not because of the people I interviewed or my subject matter. I was responsible for the entire story’s existence.

That was by far the best part of the project. Just knowing that the entire world (within the parameters of me and my car and the $ I have for gas, that is) had plenty of stories waiting to be written.

Interviews were also one of my favorite parts – I’m not sure why but if you just say you’re from a newspaper people will be more than happy to tell you anything (but maybe I wasn’t supposed to say that).

Everyone has their own set of five senses and own perspective and it was really fun seeing how so many different people actually share similar thoughts. It made me reconsider my daily life – to always remember that everyone – the person who just cut me off in traffic, who is taking forever to decide on the vending machine, etc. – they all have stories and they have all fears and desires that I may or may not share with them.

This project really taught me that it is too easy to be pessimistic and assume the world is a horrible place, but yet, pretending that the world is beautiful and a wonderful place only offers one side of things. Everything is everything. And it is easy and hard all at the same time, etc. etc. There are many outside forces, many cliches, but ultimately it is up to me whether or not I let them in.

Time management was the most difficult part of this project. Making time to look for stories and being able to follow up on them was mainly challenging because you never know which stories will have substance behind them.

People were sometimes difficult because many of them spoke fast or in incomplete sentences or sometimes they outright contradicted themselves so I would have to find many sources just to see which ones sounded best on paper.

This blog also taught me, or showed me, the standards I set for myself and that is a skill, I believe. It’s not easy to step outside of yourself and look at what you hold to be good and true.

The project taught me how to critique myself and critique the world around me – to follow any and all thoughts off the deep end.

By being able to learn what my standards were, I noticed that the more I procrastinated, the lower those standards would become and so time-management was a skill I developed – learning how to balance things out and to make and keep lists of things I had to do.

These are the kind of teachings and skills that I know will help me in life because out of all the things I have yet to deal with, I’m pretty sure that time and myself will always be there.

Time management is something that I know will help me out – I mean, we are in a constant race against time, and since time always wins (death)

Realizing what my standards for “good” or “great” are, I can continue to try and push them further and further and try to realize that standards are not made to be met, but made to pushed and broken and by all means, just kind of left drifting in the wind, miles behind you, as you calculate how to break the new standards you have set yourself, miles ahead.

 

Leave a Reply

